top of page

Mindset over Matter

Some people think that having a special place to write is the most important thing for a writer, other people say that for them -- peace and quiet, or free time away from the family.

For me, it's a schedule. I started out as a 'pantser' who organically crafted my stories with a little bit of plotting and large bursts of writing. I could pound out six thousand words in a day and then I wouldn't write again for weeks (months?). This is a problem, because getting re-engaged in your story takes effort -- and then there's the guilt of not writing when you know you should be writing. I also happen to be a procrastinator.

The first time I tried writing on a schedule was when I was working on my 'Phoebe' book. It too, was going to be the first in a series, and when I got done with the first draft it was a relief. I took a long extended break from it, and when I went back, I realized that the story was broken. And that meant a nearly complete re-write. Oh my gosh that was nearly heartbreaking. Anyone who's written a novel -- any kind of novel -- knows what I mean when I say that I was exhausted and the *idea* of completely rewriting the story killed a little piece in me -- or at least knocked it out for the count.

But eventually I got my energy back and decided I would work on the book over my lunch hour. Jim C. Hines is an author who very successfully writes over his lunch hour and I thought -- why can't I do that? So, I did. I brought my little red laptop into work, and every day during the week, I would sit at a table in the break room and type away.

You know what happened? I wrote 53,000 new words in 2.5 months, and had no writer's guilt when I went home at night, because I had already done my writing for the day. It was awkward at first, because I was in a weird place (even though it was quiet) but soon people knew what I was doing in there, and they let me be, and before I knew it, sitting down with my laptop and my lunch became a *mindset*.

This was a great success, which carried with me over to another mostly done novel that I had (the James & Beth book) and I used my time wisely again, to do a fairly good content correction on that one (though not a rewrite).

Then I took another break from writing. I'm not sure why -- probably because I changed jobs, so my rhythm changed, my outlook changed, my schedule changed, etc.

When I did get back into writing again, I was on a mission / schedule to complete a feature-length screenplay on a deadline (set by my husband - but it worked, because we were avidly trying to procure film financing at that time). The screenplay got written. It didn't suck, though it may not bhave been my best writing ever, it was good practice for writing on a schedule AND for finishing something all the way to the end. Which if you will note, I did not do with the previously mentioned novels. Those novels are still on my harddrive, saved for a rainy day, but I ran out of gas before I could bring myself to tidy them up the rest of the way.

So when I was hit with the idea for this book, A QUARREL CALLED, I knew I wanted to give myself a deadline, I needed a schedule, and as luck would have it, I even had an out-of-the-way spot procured for myself so that I could write with fewer distractions, and not cramp my husband's TV or Game time. The deadline came in the form of a writer's workshop with Carrie Vaughn at FenCon 2015. I had about two months notice when I heard of said workshop and decided to sign up for it... and so I put my mind to it -- 5K a week, every week. And by the time the workshop rolled around I had over 45,000 words written. I did manage to not make my goal every week, but overall, I did really well, and I was proud of myself. Because I had just proven TO MYSELF that I could meet a self-imposed deadline.

After the workshop was over, I wanted to complete the novel by the end of the year -- but post-workshop blues set in, and for 6 weeks, I think I only managed 10,000 words. So what did I do?

I kicked my own ass. I knew what was happening -- project depression / procrastination was setting in and I was allowing it to happen. So when Christmas was upon us, I decided that between Christmas and New Year's I would finish what was left... by then, only 35,000 words. I didn't quite make that, but I did make it by the 4th of January ... and that was close enough for me. Typing THE END was an awesome feeling. It was a pretty clean first draft, too :-)

Anyways, that brings me back around to the subject of this post -- I have been languishing in my writing goals for a couple of months now. I blame it largely on my work schedule. I started another new job in February, and I wasn't gettng home from work until after six. Pair that with making dinner and doing dishes, etc -- and it was 9:00pm before any 'sigh' time rolled around, much less writing time. So finally, I decided I had to do something about it. This wasn't working for me, and being halfway done with the second novel -- I am still very motivated to finish it and get on with the third. So I asked my boss if I could come into work earlier and leave earlier... and she said yes. So tomorrow is my first day of my new earlier schedule, and also my first day of my new dedicated writing time -- immediately after work every day that I can manage it.

There's a starbucks two blocks from work, and since I work in downtown and traffic is lousy, my current plan is to walk from work to the Starbucks every afternoon and write for at least an hour. And when it's time for me to get up and get home, I will still be home after six pm, but at least the writer's guilt will be assuaged for the day, and I will be back on my page eating pace of 1500 words (or so) a day. The last half of this novel is going to crank out so steady and fast, that next thing I know I will be scratching out notes for number three. :-)

So yeah, a dedicated place to write helps me a lot. A dedicated timeslot helps me even more. :-) The schedule I impose on myself is enough all by itself to help invoke my writer's mindset. I'm really excited to get it back.

Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page