top of page

The Martian

I'd like to say that I am ordering The Martian by Andy Weir from Amazon.com tomorrow. This will mark the first time that I am ordering a book to read because I loved the movie so much. Usually, it's the other way around... love book, must see movie.

The Martian (the movie) was very well cast, but most especially in their choice of Matt Damon as the intrepid Mark Watney, Space Pirate extraordinaire. I laughed out loud several times, clapped my hands in sympathetic victory! and gasped as I was sure he was about to get walloped by machine or environment. This movie is Very Good Science Fiction - in that I mean it has science! future! cultures coming together to solve a difficult problem! politics! and of course, Man vs. Environment - the most classic of all adventure themes.

I heartily urge you to go see this movie if you haven't already. It is possible that everyone I know has already seen it, and I am very late to the party. BUT this one is good enough, I may even pay to go see it again. I will definitely be adding this blu-ray to my collection. 'Nuff Said.

Congrats, Mr. Weir, on an excellent piece of fiction. I look forward to reading your book. :-D


Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Google+ Basic Black
bottom of page